Thinking about deleting a project from your uPerform Server? Read this first!

Have you ever tried to delete a project from your uPerform Server? If the answer is “yes” then you will have encountered the following message:

Please read carefully

Deleting a project is much larger than simply clicking the delete button and making the project disappear. The act of deleting a project runs several scripts on the server to remove items that may become security threats if not removed properly. Deleting a project will delete things like:

  • ALL content in the Document Library
  • ALL content in the Website
  • ALL published content
  • ALL project groups (end-user, author, admin)
  • ALL security policies and custom configurations
  • ALL modified properties
  • ALL assessment results

Alternatives to Deleting

While deleting may sound like the way to get rid of a project, there are other ways to get the same effect. You can remove all user access from this project. Removing access for all users will keep the content available for future use without the negative effects of permanently deleting everything.

If you decide that you are happy to keep the project but would just like to remove access, the easiest way to achieve this is to remove access on the project level.

For more information regarding the steps to remove access for projects, please review the following article: How do I remove access to a project on the uPerform Server?